Skip to content

Louis Armstrong ‎– Louis And The Angels (1958, Brunswick)


Media VG+
Sleeve VG+

Format : LP
Cat N° : 87 511
Style : Jazz

This lesser-known collection from Louis Armstrong possesses an intriguing allure. The distinguished trumpeter and vocalist presents a dozen songs, all featuring the terms “heaven” or “angel” in their titles or lyrics. He’s accompanied by the Sy Oliver Orchestra and an ethereal female choir, contributing to the celestial ambiance. Armstrong delivers several commendable trumpet solos and maintains a cheerful demeanor throughout, even injecting humor into “The Prisoner’s Song” when the word “angel” eventually emerges. Highlights include renditions of “When Did You Leave Heaven,” “I Married An Angel,” and “I’ll String Along With You.” Despite leaning toward a more commercial style compared to Armstrong’s typical recordings from that period, this album proves more memorable than anticipated, warranting a dedicated search for enthusiasts. French 1958 pressing. Beautiful record.

In stock


A1 – And The Angels Sing
A2 – Where Angels Fear To Tread
A3 – I’ll String Along With You
A4 – Angel
A5 – The Prisoner’s Song
A6 – Good Night Angel
B1 – When Did You Leave Heaven
B2 – You’re A Heavenly Thing
B3 – I Married An Angel
B4 – A Sinner Kissed An Angel
B5 – Angela Mia
B6 – Angel Child

Weight 0,23 kg